Help Is Available


What is Tough Love?

The Seven Stages of Tough Love on an Intervention

“The Seven Stages of Tough Love” is another in our Intervention Video Response Series.  What if my loved one says no?  Understanding what Tough Love is really about can help a family to understand that it is more LOVE…than it is TOUGH.

Seven Stages of Tough Love from David Lee on Vimeo.

Dear Intervention Services,

I’m considering doing an intervention on my husband John for his drinking, but I’m worried about what will happen if he says “No”.  I know in my heart that he wants help, but I also know that there is no way that he will ever agree to go away to treatment.  He might agree to see a counselor, but never a rehab.  Although your program sounds good, I don’t want make things worse.  What happens when he says no?

It is important that a family understands, ahead of time, what will happen if their loved one says no as a result of an intervention.  By removing the mystery surrounding this, David Lee, founder of Intervention Services presents “the Seven Stages of Tough Love” and helps to explain exactly what happens in most cases.

The Seven Stages of Tough Love on an Intervention

  1. Initial Reaction
  2. Denial
  3. Anger
  4. Punishment
  5. Bargaining
  6. Depression
  7. Agreement

We’re Here to Help:

If you or someone you know could benefit from a more detailed explanation about something that you have been struggling, please contact us.

All responses are delivered in a way as to respect your confidence and privacy.

Not sure what to do?
Wondering if an intervention is the right move?

Get free advice here: 888-467-2839

Scroll to Top